The first thing you should know about
being a vegetarian is that you have more than one choice of who you want
to be.There are a few different types of vegetarians, which are explained below.
Part-time vegetarians, people who say, "I'm a vegetarian - I'm only
eating red meat once a month", really don't fit into any of these
groups. These people are considered to be in transition, interested in
eating more healthfully and potentially on their way toward eliminating
animal products altogether.
Here is a rundown of the three vegetarian
Ovo-Lacto Vegetarians : Possibly
the most popular choice among new vegetarians. They do not eat any
animal flesh but do use dairy products and eggs.
Lacto Vegetarians : Do not eat any
animal flesh or eggs but do use dairy products.
Vegans : The most complete of all
vegetarians, vegans do not eat animal products of any type, including
animal flesh (red meat, chicken, pork, fish, shellfish), dairy products,
eggs, or honey.